STRIP Clinics

It isn’t always convenient or comfortable to go to your doctor or the Sexual Health Clinic to get a sexual health check-up.

The STRIP clinics have been designed to make it easier and more comfortable for the LGBTI community to look after our sexual health. The STRIP clinics are quick and easy as well as free to access – they are anonymous and no Medicare card or booking is required.

Friendly nurses from the Canberra Sexual Health Centre and Capital Health Network are in attendance and your results are available the following week in person, or sooner over the phone or via text message*.

Consultations take 30 to 45 minutes. No appointment is necessary but we suggest booking to reduce how long you need to wait. 

Tests conducted at STRIP clinics are looking for asymptomatic STIs, those that do not always have obvious symptoms, including;

  • HIV
  • Syphilis
  • Hepatitis’ A, B and C
  • Chlamydia
  • Gonorrhoea

All tests are voluntary and can be discussed with the nurses. The tests are designed to be as non-invasive as possible, and some samples are self-collected in privacy. To make a booking contact the AIDS Action Council.

STRIP CLINIC DATES 2017

Clinics are held 5:00pm to 7:00pm at Havelock House 85 Northbourne Ave (Gould Street entrance) Turner

  • Monday 16th January
  • Monday 20th February
  • Monday 20th March
  • Tuesday 18th April
  • Monday 15th May
  • Monday 19th June
  • Monday 17th July
  • Monday 21st August
  • Monday 18th September
  • Monday 16th October
  • Monday 20th November
  • Monday 18th December

NO BOOKINGS ARE REQUIRED — JUST DROP IN!

The STRIP clinics have been a project of PACT, the Partnership Approach to Comprehensive Testing, since 2002. PACT is collaboration between the AIDS Action Council, Canberra Sexual Health Centre, Medicare Local ACT, SWOP ACT and Sexual Health and Family Planning ACT as well as the venues that allow the clinics on their premises.

*Receiving results via phone call or SMS is optional after discussion with the clinician.

Our Featured Publications & Journals

Copyright © 2016 AIDS Action Council of the ACT

Donate

Donate to the AIDS Action Council or the Trevor Daley Fund. Donations over $2 are tax deductible. Call 6257 2855 or email us for more details.